Monday, January 31, 2011

The Treasure Map of Boys by E. Lockhart

The Treasure Map of Boys by E. Lockhart
Release Date:  July 28, 2009
Publisher:  Delacorte

Ruby is back at Tate Prep, and it’s her thirty-seventh week in the state of Noboyfriend. Her panic attacks are bad, her love life is even worse, and what’s more: Noel is writing her notes, Jackson is giving her frogs, Gideon is helping her cook, and Finn is making her brownies. Rumors are flying, and Ruby’s already-sucky reputation is heading downhill.

Not only that, she’s also: running a bake sale, learning the secrets of heavymetal therapy, encountering some seriously smelly feet, defending the rights of pygmy goats, and body-guarding Noel from unwanted advances.

In this companion novel to The Boyfriend List and The Boy Book, Ruby struggles to secure some sort of mental health, to understand what constitutes a real friendship, and to find true love—if such a thing exists. -

This is part 2 of a 3 review series of E. Lockhart's "Boyfriend" book series about Ruby "Roo" Oliver.  You can view my initial review of The Boyfriend List, and part 1 of this review series on The Boy Book, the sequel.  This third installment of the series has Roo learning how to make new friends now that her old ones have abandoned her.  Boys are coming out of the woodwork to distract her and she's trying to figure out which ones really matter, and which ones she should forget.

During the course of this story, this girl awakens to even more nuances of her own personality and the origins of her panic attacks.  She learns more about what makes a true friend, and what makes a guy worthy of being a "boyfriend."  As with the last two books, Ruby learns a little bit more about herself and what makes her tick, and she grows a little further, yet again.  I seriously love watching the slow progression that E. Lockhart moves her through toward the final conclusion.

The additions of Meghan into the mix is a welcome one.  Although Meghan has been there throughout, Roo begins to really see Meghan for what she truly is...a good friend.  It is nice to see Ruby having some people to turn to a little bit in the absence of her longtime friends who have deserted her.

This one, thus far, is my favorite of the three I had read.  Although the series continues to get even better as each book goes along, I loved seeing Ruby begin to make some real progress here.  You can see some rewards for her efforts beginning to line up for her, and this was awesome.  You so badly wanted Ruby to catch a break at this point.

I love this series and couldn't wait to read book four.  Look for the last installment review of the Ruby Oliver series coming up next!

If you liked this book, you might also like:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...