Friday, March 27, 2015

Triple Mini Review: Nova & Quinton Series by Jessica Sorensen

Breaking Nova by Jessica Sorensen
Release Date: September 3, 2013
Publisher: Forever

Saving Quinton by Jessica Sorensen
Release Date: February 4, 2014
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Nova & Quinton: No Regrets by Jessica Sorensen
Release Date: April 15, 2014
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Breaking Nova Summary from Goodreads:

Nova Reed used to have dreams-of becoming a famous drummer, of marrying her true love. But all of that was taken away in an instant. Now she's getting by as best she can, though sometimes that means doing things the old Nova would never do. Things that are slowly eating away at her spirit. Every day blends into the next . . . until she meets Quinton Carter. His intense, honey brown eyes instantly draw her in, and he looks just about as broken as she feels inside.

Quinton once got a second chance at life-but he doesn't want it. The tattoos on his chest are a constant reminder of what he's done, what he's lost. He's sworn to never allow happiness into his life . . . but then beautiful, sweet Nova makes him smile. He knows he's too damaged to get close to her, yet she's the only one who can make him feel alive again. Quinton will have to decide: does he deserve to start over? Or should he pay for his past forever?

If I could post a one-word review of this series, it would be simply this:  "Wow!"  A few days ago I started reading Breaking Nova and finished it late into the night... or maybe it was early in the A.M., depending upon how you look at it.  I immediately started reading the second book, Saving Quinton, and then instantly pulled up and finished the series with Nova & Quinton: No Regrets.  I finished all three books in practically one day, that's how wonderful and absorbing they were.  Since I finished them so close together, I figured I would just post one review for all three books.

This series was amazing.  These were some of the most well-drawn and sympathetic characters I've read in a long time.  I fell in love with them instantly, felt so deeply for each of them... and not just Nova and Quinton, but all of the secondary characters too.  These are all people who have something in their past that has broken them deeply, and they all have turned to the wrong thing for solace, for escape from their feelings, and to reach a place where they just don't feel at all, because the feelings are so intensely sad and torturing that they can't handle them.

The author did an amazing job portraying these feelings, and the lifestyle they each sink into in order to escape.  It was a raw, gritty, and brutally honest portrayal of what can happen to someone when they sink down deep and away from the light.  

The romance between the two main characters was slow-building, a quiet burn that you couldn't help but be moved by.  It has a lesson in it that was deeply fulfilling to read: that of love conquering all.  I know that's cliche, but it shows how a person's love can change you if you just don't give up on them, no matter what may come.

The writing was real and simple, but at times poetic in its depth.  I cried so many times throughout the reading of this series, and there are very few books that make me actually cry.  But I literally sobbed aloud at one point, I was so deeply touched.  

Jessica Sorensen is amazing.  She is a brilliant storyteller who knows how to touch your heart and pull you into her characters' world.  This series was amazing, memorable, and deeply moving.  

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...